Italian Brodo !!

Winter Magic

Brodo is the Italian word for broth . This is one of my absolute favoite soups for winter. Hearty and simple . You can make a clear broth like the Italians  using the same ingrediants I am using, although I choose to chop them finely and keep them in adding more colour so a little aussie as well !!

Ingredients

I large free range/organic chicken – always use the best produce when eating meat as it results in a better product !!

 I take skin off  as this makes it less fatty and healthier . If you want fat keep on thats fine but more labour intensive as you have to skim fat off the top of soup. 

2-3 carrots finely chopped

1 brown onion finely chopped

half bunch celery finely chopped

1 red chilli finely chopped

2 cloves garlic finely chopped

 2 ltres Chicken stock (massel ) or 

http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/how_to_make_chicken_stock/

1 tblespoon Tarragon ( dried)

2 tspoon bouguet garni

2 tspoon herb rock salt

1 bunch parsley

I lemon juiced

fresh  Cheese Tortellini or your pasta of choice . You can make from scratch but I prefer to buy mine from any of the hundreds of  good italian delis or pasta specialtie stores. If you are gluten intolerant use Gluten free pasta , lentils or Barley. 

I’ve included this tutorial :

http://video.about.com/italianfood/Basic-Tortellini.htm

parmesean or peccorino cheese grated again purchase from a good deli !!

Method

To get all my vegatables finely chopped I use a food processor to get the results needed , this ensures the ingridients blend well into soup. No chunks !

 Heat oil in a large pot

Add chopped onion, garlic and rock salt . Cook on medium for approx 10 min . 

Add chopped carrots,celery and chilli and cook until soft approx 10 min stirring occasionaly .

Add chicken stock and spices then place chicken into the pot. Cook on medium for a approx 40 min to an hour. Turn off. Add lemon

Take chicken out and place into a large bowl. Wait for it to cool and pull meat away and place back into soup.

I then cook my pasta seperately and add when I serve , it takes no time and it doesn’t to continue to expand in the soup. 

Once served add a handful of chopped parsley and grated cheese. 

note: if you want a clear broth just follow stock recipe.

This is my take on brodo . I hope you enjoy it xx

 
Leave a Reply

